Karan Johar’s Student of The Year…is it a mashup of Joh Jeeta Wohi Sikander & Mohabbatein?!

So Karan Johar is directing after a hiatus of three years…and this time he’s directing newcomers. Varun Dhawan is David Dhawan’s younger son (the older son directed Desiz Boyz with Akshay, John, and Deepika), Alia Bhatt is Mahesh Bhatt and Soni Razdan’s daughter, and Siddharth Malhotra a former model.

This movie reminds me of Joh Jeeta Wohi Sikander with the whole competition angle and Mohabbatein with the romantic angle…A part of me wants to check this movie out because its being directed by Karan Johar but a part of me could care less because I feel like none of the newcomers have that special spark…out of the lot -Siddharth Malhotra definitely has the  best impression because he’s good looking but when he delivers his dialogues…its a hot mess. Alia Bhatt looks expressionless in all the promos and honestly I don’t find her that gorgeous. Varun Dhawan is the only one that looks like he can emote and act in the promos but I’ll have to watch the movie to be completely sold on his talent…that is if there is any at all.

I’m sure the movie will have its glamourous moments and incredible sets all decked out with designer duds…I mean this is a KJO production in association with SRK’s Red Chillies Entertaintment….But I’m most excited about seeing Sana Saeed the girl that played the part of Anjali in KKHH…she’s supposed to play the “college hottie”….I honestly found her to be prettier than Alia Bhatt in all the pics that I have seen of SOTY.

Check out the first look poster and theatrical trailer:

3 thoughts on “Karan Johar’s Student of The Year…is it a mashup of Joh Jeeta Wohi Sikander & Mohabbatein?!

  1. where’s anjali? lol btw – 2:04 – that wasn’t rishi kapoor right? reminded me of him. lol looks aight. i’m not seeing the mohabbatein aspect. i mean it’s the same college scene or whatever… diff plot… though i totally see the joh jeeta aspect… but they freshened it up a bit. dunno if i’m gonna watch it… mainly b/c the characters seem lame.. and omg alia bhatt is SO not cute!!!!! lol

    • I know right! I totally agree. I’ll post a picture of her in a few! She looks way prettier than Alia Bhatt..I just don’t see that special something in Alia at all. I’m seeing the mohabbatein aspect with the whole larger than life and fantastically amazing college campus that can’t be found anywhere else other than Mohabbatein’s Gurukul haha I’m going to watch it b/c Karan is directing after 3 years…but I think it isn’t going to be great…b/c the newcomers lack that spark

Leave a Reply

