New Promo: Jab Tak Hai Jaan

So YRF finally put out the new promo of Jab Tak Hai Jaan! However, I’m not completely excited…there are parts of this new promo that I like and parts that I feel are too “old school filmy”(not in a good way!). Based on the promos, I don’t like the pairing of Katrina Kaif with Shahrukh Khan…I don’t feel the spark or the chemistry…and having Katrina bounce around in a mini skirt and showing off her midriff  does not add to the romantic quotient! Katrina looks pretty as always but she has a long way to go in terms of emoting properly! I loved the parts with Anushka Sharma, I honestly feel like she’s going to walk away with the appreciation and awards even though she isn’t the lead…kinda like Dil Toh Pagal Hai where Karisma Kapoor walked away with the appreciation and awards even though she wasn’t the lead. The story based on the trailers seems straightforward – a pair fell in love, one must have betrayed the other or one must have died – and the struggles that come with that…at least that’s what I’m guessing based on all the shayari (poetry).  I also don’t love the background score with this particular promo and what is up with the whole homage to “Border” with all the bombs going off behind Shahrukh Khan…I get it – he’s an army officer enough of it already…I mean King Khan played a similar role in “Veer-Zara” from the looks of it…here’s hoping its nothing like VZ and more of an original romantic movie!

What are your thoughts? Do you love the promo?

Check out the promo:

4 thoughts on “New Promo: Jab Tak Hai Jaan

  1. although we get more plot details from the promo, i think you’re right, it doesn’t seem like the romantic movie we were expecting. i hope its good, i’m in the mood for an old school bollywood romance so i hope it delivers. i’ll be seeing it regardless with my bollywood buddy 😉 lol.

    • yup i feel the same way…will see it either way b/c it is a Yash Chopra directed movie and SRK is being his romantic self…but its more out of curiosity than excitement….I miss the DDLJ craze that came with SRK…I wish they didn’t cast Katrina in this role…she just can’t emote properly…I would have preferred an actress that can act like Parineeti Chopra or something…

  2. that sucked. lol i think the only things i liked were the shayiree and anushka… though her dancing around in the yellow tanktop reminded me too much of the song in ladies vs. ricky bhal. i dunno… i was really hoping this would be the fresh, new VZ, DDLJ, something for this generation. i dunno… katrina doesn’t promise that for me. 😦 same as above though – still gonna see it. too curious not to. lol

Leave a Reply

